Food Review – D Cafe -Indore

Drinks… Dim Lights…Dazzling Decor…Devouring Food… D Cafe is all about a variety of cuisines served at one place.

Here, you will have a plethora of food options – from the chatpata street food like Dahi Puri, Pani Puri and Vada Paav to the continental options like Italian, Mexican, Persian and Chinese to the Indian ones like the Maharashtrian Puran Poli to Gujarati Daal Dhokli to Sindhi Daal Pakwaan – the menu of this place is simply eye gazing!

Located on the main road at YN Road, Indore, D Cafe has some fine cue-lights and wall interiors which made me flat out happy asa I entered the cafe.

IMG-20160626-WA0015

Having written that, FYI once again, D Cafe has a wide range of cuisines available on their menu. Hence, I was dazed as to what to order and what not to though decisively I planned to taste one dish at least from all their specialities.

So, I started off skittering at some yummy Street Food options and ordered myself a DAHI PURI PLATE and Bombay’s Jaan & Shaan the one and only VADA PAAV.

IMG-20160626-WA0011

Vada Paav 

 

IMG-20160626-WA0023

Dahi Puri

Vada Paav was just as it should be – authentic, spicy and yummy! I bet, this will remind you of Bombay (if you’ve been there and had a Vada Paav over there). I would definitely tell you to try this out if you love spicy starters, I surely needed some sweetness after eating these spicy desi burgers. Hence to balance it out, I had some Dahi Puris which were just Yum Yum and Yum. Though, eat them quick as it may get soggy soon because of the windy-rainy weather. 😉

 

2016-06-26-01-59-50-664

Okay! So, after devouring myself into the desi chats, I wanted to sip-in the drinks menu. So, I along with a friend ordered a BLACKCURRANT SMOOTHIE and a Coffee cum Chocolate Shake, CHOCO ROCK SHAKE (which I also ordered because it was on Today’s D Special Menu).

IMG-20160626-WA0000

Blackcurrant Smoothie and Choco Rock Shake

I’ll be very very honest here, I loved the Choco Rock Shake as it gave the right amount and balance of both – chocolate and coffee. Also, I loved the way they had put in a tint of fennel seeds (saunf) in the shake. On the other hand, I would not recommend having you a blackcurrant smoothie here as it will disappoint you, at it disappointed me as it more tasted like a blackcurrant shake! Lack of yoghurt in the smoothie is a big nah nah!

But, if you are a Chocolate & Coffee lover, Choco Rock will certaily Rock Your Palette. 😉

Alongside, I tried their SAUTED MUSHROOMS, which was a flavorful Mushroom Dish with a lot of Garlic in it. If you are in mood for some garlicy-spicy mushrooms, this dish can be tried and tasted.

IMG-20160626-WA0002

Sauted Mushrooms

 

 

For the Main Course, I wanted to try their conventional recipe. Therefore, we ordered a famous Gujarati Dish, “Daal Dhokli”. Those of you who don’t know what this dish is? It’s a tasty dipped wheat roti cut-outs (like dumplings) in the Daal, served with a lot of Desi Ghee on the Top, though if you are a litte ghee cautious, then not to worry as they serve you ghee at the side, so it’s your choice to have it with the ghee or no!

IMG-20160626-WA0027

Daal Dhokli

 

I, of course had it with a lot of ghee on the top and it’s a good wholesome meal for 2-3 people. The daal was a little sweet, like the Gujaratis like it to be though I loved the taste of the peanuts inside the Daal. It gave it a rustic touch at the same time a well balanced authenticity was still there in the Daal Dhokli. Yummy in my Tummy!

I also got myself done a mini photo session (like always) as D Cafe is beautiful inside out. Have a look!

 

My ratings,

Ambience- ☆☆☆☆ (it’s a cool and romantic place at the same time- you can go with your friends or even with your special someone)
Service- ☆☆☆☆(Pretty humble and quick staff)
Cost- ☆☆☆.5 (Well Balanced price rates for the dishes, respectively)
Taste- ☆☆☆.5 (An extra .5 is for the Love of the Ghee on the Daal Dhokli) 😉
Presentation- ☆☆☆☆ (Excellent Presentation of all the Dishes)
Overall- ☆☆☆.5
Hope my review was helpful, can get in touch with me for any food queries or suggestions at belly.k6@gmail.com
I’ll be back with a new place and new review soon!
Till then keep eating and keep your belly happy!:)

 

 

Leave a Reply

