What my Belly had at Freito, Indore on the occassion of Good France Day

I have never eaten French Cuisine in Indore as there are no restaurants whatsoever that serve French Cuisine. Talking about France, most of us have not had much from France except experiencing the world famous French Kiss. 😉

Jokes apart, I was really happy that Indore’s newly opened French themed cafe FREITO has come with an idea of celebrating Good France Day, being the only cafe in central India celebrating this French occasion. This day is celebrated each year where over 2000 chefs on all five continents cook French cuisine to their respective invited guests. Basically, chefs are free to share their values, innovations and love that they have for French food through this day.

I along with my fellow food bloggers from the Indore Bloggers Association were invited to taste this amazing menu that Chef Amit Pamnani had designed specifically for this day. Chef Amit has over 20 years of experience as a chef in India & abroad. He is currently based in Indore and is a menu consultant for restaurants and also runs his cooking classes by the name of Amit Pamnani Culinary Studio.

IMG_2506

Menu for the day

Talking about Freito, I simply love their ambience as it is based on French theme and you literally feel like as if you are sitting at the Eiffel tower and enjoying your meal. The cafe is divided into two floors so there is an outdoor sitting area on the first floor and indoor & outdoor both at your convenience on the second.

IMG_6343-001

Outdoors

 kkkk

IMG_2565

Indoors

 

WHAT MY BELLY ATE:

Amuse Bouche

A mouth-tingling appetiser served with toasted bread & herb butter, this dish was a tomato based cold broth which was a fresh start to a hot summer afternoon.

Tomatoes are marinated with a lot of herbs overnight and then quashed to give it a broth like structure. If you aren’t a tomato fan, like one of my fellow food bloggers, this dish may disappoint you. Otherwise, this drink is a healthy version of a Bloody Mary Mocktail/Cocktail.

IMG_2517

Tomate delicieux

French Onion Tart

This was my second favourite dish from the menu. The slow cooked caramelised onions tasted so velvety as soon as it goes in the mouth along with the perfect balance of crunch because of the puff pastry base.

I love the flavours of dijon mustard dressing and sage tempura herb as a garnishing which made me fell in love with the innovation that Chef Amit presented with this entree. Simply joyful! 😀

IMG_2519

Simplement Joyeux!

 

Baked Spinach and Mushroom Crepes

The combination of Baked spinach, mushrooms and a hell lot of cheese made this cheese irresistible for my palette. I am hopefully going to come down to Freito just to have this dish when I am in a desperate mood to eat something cheesy, which is healthy at the same time. For you vegetarians, my two thumbs up for this dish. Do try!

IMG_2530

Tres Fromage!

Chicken Fricasse Maman Blanc

Chicken legs braised in white wine, vinegar and a lot of herbs which is served with french beans and fondant potatoes on the side. This dish was tomato based too so if you aren’t a tomato person, you might not like this tangy chicken main course. I somehow liked the flavour of chicken which was cooked in vinegar and white wine sauce, but somehow the fondant potatoes didn’t go well as it was too hard on the outside and very soft on the inside which went too blank for me. Eat it at your own risk! 😉

IMG_2525

Beau Eiffel Tower

Chocolate Delice

This was undoubtedly my most favourite dish from the menu. Though, I am always very biased when it comes to chocolate based desserts, though I am quite sure that even the non-chocolate lovers would notch their head too for this one.

A very chocolatey and delicate custard set on the base of sable biscuits, garnished with caramelised almond and nut anglaise. The crunch of the biscuit base and the smoothness of chocolate custard is just heaven in your mouth.

Trust me! You will thank me after having this dessert! nom nom nom 🙂

IMG_2554

Paradis!

 

At last, I would like to thank team Freito – Mr Akash Rochlani and Mr Ankit Punjabi for inviting me and my blogger’s team for celebrating this awesome Good France Day. Wishing to celebrate this day each upcoming year with the Freito Family.

Thank you to Chef Amit Pamnani once again for the amazing menu and for the sinfully delicious dessert of course. 😀

IMG_2568

 

IMG_2563

Team Indore Bloggers Association

My ratings for Freito’s Good France Day Menu,

Ambience- ☆☆☆☆☆ (I wish I could give more, just for the Eiffel Tower Feel)

Service- ☆☆☆☆ (very warm and humble staff)

Taste- ☆☆☆ (Can be better with time & suggestions)

Presentation- ☆☆☆.5

Overall- ☆☆☆

Hope my review was helpful, can get in touch with me for any food queries or suggestions at belly.k6@gmail.com and can also follow me on Facebook and Instagram!

I’ll be back with a new place and new review soon!

Till then keep eating and keep your belly happy!:)

Freito Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “What my Belly had at Freito, Indore on the occassion of Good France Day

Leave a Reply

