How much Dal Bafla my Belly had at Vrindavan Restaurant, Indore

If there were 7 wonders rating for food items, I am sure Dal Bafla was counted in that list in the top 3. Not just because of its taste and flavours imbibed together but also because how creatively this dish is made, served and is eaten.

I along with the fellow bloggers from Indore Bloggers Association were invited to attend a Dal Bafla Bloggers Meet at Vrindavan Restaurant, Indore in association with Indori Zayka. The restaurant is launching their Dal Bafla Menu this Saturday on the 13th of May, you can enjoy their special dal bafla dish every weekend on lunch’ henceforth.

As far as their ambience is concerned, it was nicely set up with an exuberant feel of Indian Culture & feel and the love for Indian Dining style was standing out at the Vrindavan Restaurant, have a look yourself:

IMG_2210-001

IMG_2213-001

IMG_2224-001

As far as I know, Daal Bati Churma is a popular dish of Rajasthan but is quite popular by the name of daal bafla in Malwa region. The basic difference being that a bati is directly baked in a tandoor whereas a bafla is first boiled and then baked in a tandoor. No matter if it’s a bati or a bafla, for me both are equally tasty and mouth watering as they can be eaten with a lot of options like dal, kadi, gatte ki sabzee, achar, chatneys, thecha and chhunda salad.

IMG_2286-002

The plate consisted of Bafla (with loads of ghee on the top), Yellow Dal, White Kadi, Gatte ki Sabzee, Chhunda Salad, Green Coriander Chutney, Red Tomato & Garlic Chutney and of course the Churma Laddoo. They also served a Keri Panna kam Jal Jeera sort of a cooler considering the weather and climate.

What I liked:

I loved how the baflas were perfectly cooked, tender from the inside, the flavour of dal was neither too spicy or blank, it was well cooked too. The red chutney was something new to taste and goes well with dal and bafla together. Although my favourite was white kadi which I even drank 2 bowls straight away. For all you sweet lovers, ladoos will be delish as well.

What I suggest:

I think the gatte ki sabzee was a little spicy and didn’t work for me at all. Although the gatta was well cooked yet I still think the spiciness in the gravy was a bit too much. Talking about the cooler, it was more like a spicy jaljeera than an aam panna for my taste buds. I wish it was a bit less spicy! I think a glass of buttermilk shall be a better option with dal baflas.

Pricing:

The pricing would be Rs 200/- per plate, which I think is pretty decent, although there are a lot of places where you find dal baflas at even more reasonable price.

Quantity:

I would say, “Khaate Jao Khaate Jao” as it is unlimited. I think we will be tired eating it but they won’t be tired serving it with love and hospitality. 🙂

Overall Experience:

Very spacious ambience with great hospitality and huge cooler-fans to keep you cool in the open space as well. I would certainly visit again with my family as this is a great weekend lunch place to come with your family or friends.

I would rate it ☆☆☆/5

IMG_3978-002

Lastly, I would like to thank Team Vrindavan for this great experience, Rakesh Dawani for organising this meet and all my fellow food bloggers for joining and making this meet memorable everytime we all gather.

IMG_4017-001.JPG

Hope my review was helpful, can get in touch with me for any food queries or suggestions at belly.k6@gmail.com and can also follow me on Facebook and Instagram!

I’ll be back with a new place and new review soon!

Till then keep eating and keep your belly happy!:)

Vrindavan Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

